TICKETS TORN IN HALF: October 24,1970- DEREK AND THE DOMINOES/HUMBLE PIE/Ballin’ Jack @FILLMORE EAST

I was officially alone, a one ticket kinda guy, encouraging some friends to see Derek and The Dominoes with Humble Pie and Ballin’Jack at Fillmore East. However, I knew this particular small circle of friends would not last too long as far too many drugs were ingested, by them not me. I was there for the music. Tonight was like babysitting brats. One guy lost his ticket outside after cussing out a NYPD officer, another nodded off during Humble Pie (as loud as they were), and then, the guy who lost his ticket shows up with an usher just as Derek and The Dominoes were introduced and claims I have his ticket. The usher politely asked me to accompany him to the lobby, to which I responded “NO” and then I explained that the empty seat next to me is for “the drugged out motherfucker” who dropped his ticket somewhere. The usher nodded, and sat my “friend” who promptly took a nap. I couldn’t wait to drop them off and vowed that it would be the last time I would go out with them as danger lurked there. HUMBLE PIE was a knockout success and DEREK AND THE DOMINOES as expected, outstanding. Musically, I was one happy man.